Alpine Meadows Wildlife Rehab

Gray Fox:

- Foxes are members of the Canine family. Baby foxes are called kits or pups.
- Baby foxes require Taurine just like cats do!
- Both cats and foxes have vertical slit pupils unlike dogs.
- There are 23 species of foxes in the world, the United States has 5- gray fox, red fox, kit fox, swift fox and the arctic  fox
- Gray foxes LOVE to climb trees and spend much of their time in them! They can even rotate their shoulders to grasp the tree trunk to climb like a cat does and unlike a dog which cannot rotate its arm. They love to eat eggs and fruit which they eat when they climb up trees but love to just lounge up there enjoying the afternoon.
- The fox has existed as its own branch of the family for approximately 6-9 million years!
- The average adult gray fox is about 20% smaller than the red fox. Adult gray foxes range from 6-15 pounds and are about 28 inches long.
- The gray fox can be identified by its salt and pepper coat, the black stripe down the top surface of its tail, and the black tip. Red foxes have a white tip to the tail.
- Gray fox kits are nearly hairless when they are born other fox kits are born with fur.
- The average gestation period is 52 days and the average litter is 4 kits.
- There are documented cases of gray foxes climbing vertical tree trunks up to 60 feet high!
- The gray fox is the most elusive and least understood of all the foxes in N. America.
- The fox diet consists of insects, fruit, carrion, eggs and small mammals up to the size of rabbits. Despite common belief they general do no go after cats, think about it cats are about the same size and could be bigger than them. They would rather have a rat or bird. Fruit is a universal favorite. A skilled fox can catch 4 worms a minute!
- Foxes are EXTREMELY vocal and have a wide range of calls.
- There are 5 distinct fox odors originating from different glands on them. They often have a slightly "skunky" smell.
- They are one of the 5 primary rabies carriers and also carry Parvo and distemper.

-Scientists have evidence that people attempted to domesticate foxes for pets long before dogs.


- Deer are ruminants with a 4 chambered stomach. This allows them to eat quickly then move to a safe spot to digest and finish eating their food.
-There are 5  deer species in N. America: white tailed deer, moose, elk, mule deer/black tail deer, & caribou
- White tail deer and mule deer can interbreed.
- White tail deer have a fluffy tail with a bold white underside, mule deer have smaller tails with a black tip.
- Mule deer "stott" which is a peculiar bounding form of running. The longest Stott bounds can be up to 28 Feet!
- Deer are bigger in the northern areas than in the southern areas of the country.
- A White Tail deer will spend most of its lifetime in a 1 square mile area
- White tail deer can run up to 36 miles an hour and can clear a 7 ft. fence
- a newborn fawn weighs between 6-9 pounds
- Deer only have lower front teeth not top teeth in the front. Their molars are on the top and bottom. They have a hard palate they use instead of teeth to help them grip vegetation.